Day 1: The Learning Curve

landscape, trees, Wildlife

Today was the first day I’ve managed to get out and about with my new toy; after finally taking the plunge and investing in a DSLR I thought I should take the time to learn how to shoot properly utilising the full manual mode of the camera.

With a bit of research from a few great websites which gave me a basic understanding of DOF, Aperture, Shutter speed etc.

This is a fantastic resource to start with:

http://www.iheartfaces.com/2012/12/getting-started-with-new-camera/

Here are the results; hopefully with practice I’ll see some improvements over time. No post processing used, haven’t even started to learn adobe lightroom yet.

Any comments/help to improve would be appreciated!
IMG_1161
https://flic.kr/p/umR8g4

This shot took me ages to capture the colours I wanted when trying to capture the blue of the sky and retain the lush green of the tree. After fiddling with the white balance (definitely something I need to read more into) the result is closer to what i was expecting.
IMG_1137
IMG_1126
IMG_1120
https://flic.kr/p/vgjM45

2 thoughts on “Day 1: The Learning Curve

  1. ISO 5k on the deer shot seems a little overkill for outdoor daytime shooting?

    also, I wouldnt worry TOO much about colour balance and stuff on your camera, you can fix that shit easy in lightroom. Remember to switch your file type to RAW as well (if you havent already) before you get serious, as manipulating jpegs is shit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

